Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: etching or epoxy primer on bare sheet metal

Question etching or epoxy primer on bare sheet metal

I have removed the paint down to bare sheet metal and I need to know if I should use a self etching primer or an epoxy primer.

If you need to do filler work you should use epoxy. You can not apply body filler over etching primer. Just be sure to get it done ASAP, it doesn't take more than a 1/2 hour for rust to start on the surface.
    Chris'
    Autobody
    Restoration
    Service

www.carsofcomfrey.com

Comfrey MN

William McCormick "I am not an expert, but I do know some basics that are often not known by many."

dont forget to treat the bare metal with rust converter (phospheric acid and water:1 part to 10 ) before anything. It will actually act as an etcher for good filler and primer adhesion too.

GJM

Default acid

This Phospheric acid and water:1 part to 10 solution where do you get the Phospheric
    Does Eastwood have this acid or get it at the local paint store??

I am more or less doing the same thing have a 65 GTO removing the paint/bondo from the quarters. I have left the one quarter unpainted bare metal for a couple of weeks now. It will need extensive bondo work and a little welding to repair some drill holes for the bondo to stick better.

I see no rust on the bare metal but it is pretty cold and dry here now in the Midwest and am running a dehumidifier in the garage to keep it real dry.

I cant spray primer in the garage as the fumes will go in the house too easy I read somewhere I can get a roll on epoxy primer and will try it. So I will try this acid solution before I paint it..
    Thanks
    Eric

Thumbs up phospheric tips